The Center for Health Statistics & Vital Records at the Oregon Health Authority department is the government agency responsible for vital records of events that occurred within the state of Oregon. Oregon Marriage Records dating from 1906 are available at this office along with those of Birth, Death and Divorce. The standard information contained in Oregon Marriage Records includes the registrants’ names, county, date of occurrence and file number. They are widely used in genealogical researches, background checks and so forth. Oregon state law restricts access to this information for 50 years after the date of the event to certain parties: family members and their legal representatives, those with a personal or property right, authorized government agencies and organizations and state-licensed personnel. Applications by other applicants may only be considered if a notarized letter of consent signed by an eligible member is included.
When ordering Oregon Marriage Records, the relationship of the requestor to the registrant, or the reason for needing them must be stated. The fees for mail and walk-in requests are $20 and $23.25 respectively, payable by check or money order. Extra copies can be obtained for $15 each. Telephone and internet orders cost $36.50 per search. Payment is not refundable and processing and delivery time depend on the mode of request varying from 10 minutes for walk-ins to 5 weeks for regular mail.